Christmas dinner with St. Vincent’s Home residents

St. Vincent’s Home, a small sheltered home for the very poor elderly who have to rely on public assistance, but are otherwise able to manage their own daily activities and independence. I first went there a couple of years ago with my boyfriend, and have been back a couple of times since as the elderly are really friendly & nice. It’s also at an most unexpected place! It’s located at the roof of an old HDB that’s just behind the art museum.

Went this evening with the intention of giving them a simple Christmas meal and the gift of time and presence. As always, I leave feeling that I will come again, and I will come back soon.

It was really a small group of volunteers this time. Vivian, who’s done monthly group visits for the last 7 years. Alice, my dear PP friend. Iris, who messaged me in the evening that she’s bringing her keyboard & can sing some carols (I love her vocals!). Her husband, Raymond. Her friend, Gracy, who also came by at last minute notice.

The number of elderly in the home is also much smaller since my first visit. A reminder that time is of essence… Felt sad to learn that the oldest resident I met, Jane, who kept telling us she was 99 (she was really 100), has passed on. And also sad that Jane’s best friend, Peter, has also moved out to a nursing home. Amidst the smiles, there’s a layer of hidden sadness that no one really talks about.

But I hope in the 2 hours that we were there, we brought them some joy, laughter, music and hope. And I know I will be back. For the residents :)

Apparently, the residents love wanton mee. I was taking public transport, and wondered where and how I was going to buy 13 bags of wonderful tasting wanton mee, and deliver them to the home so that they are piping hot and tasty. My intuition told me to go to Tiong Bahru market. Found a stall that looked like it sold yummy food. Bought them, and felt "mission accomplished!"

Apparently, the residents love wanton mee. I was taking public transport, and wondered where and how I was going to buy 13 bags of wonderful tasting wanton mee, and deliver them to the home so that they are piping hot and tasty. My intuition told me to go to Tiong Bahru market. Found a stall that looked like it sold yummy food. Bought them, and felt “mission accomplished!”

Iris playing beautiful Christmas music on her keyboard. She has really beautiful vocals! Her friend, Gracy, and I later joined her in singing "O Holy Night"

Iris playing beautiful Christmas music on her keyboard. She has really beautiful vocals! Her friend, Gracy, and I later joined her in singing “O Holy Night”

blowing out the candle, to celebrate the birth of Jesus, and everyone in the room!

blowing out the candle, to celebrate the birth of Jesus, and everyone in the room!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

